Restoring email

Whether you're a MailWasher veteran or complete newbie, all users are welcome to get together. Discussions include usage and possible problems.
greshoff
Travelling Tuatara

Restoring email

Sat Nov 29, 2008 7:48 pm

Hi,
I have been using mailwasher for years, currently using latest version. Recently I needed to restore a email from the recycle bin on mailwasher. I highlighted the email in the list and clicked restore email. I then got a box saying the restored email was being sent to my email address. The email is not restored and never arrives. This has always worked in past. I have not made any changes to mailwasher.

Any advice in getting deleted emails restored would be much appreciated.
Ikeb
Microsoft MVP with a slice of PITA

Re: Restoring email

Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:58 am

Recheck all your settings. It's possible that a setting was inadvertently changed. Also, using your email client, try sending yourself a test msg via that same smtp server to confirm that the server is still OK.
greshoff
Travelling Tuatara

Tue Dec 02, 2008 3:08 am

I have rechecked all my settings and as far as I can see they are OK. I have sent a test message by same SMTP server which I received. I am however still unable to receive restored messages from Mailwashers recycle bin. Any other ideas??
greshoff
Travelling Tuatara

Tue Dec 02, 2008 3:42 am

Hi,

I have changed the email account which will send & receive the restored messages and have got it to work. I would be most obliged if someone in the know could help me set up my recycle bin to send & receive restored messages from my gmail account. Many thanks in advance
stan_qaz
Omniscient Kiwi

Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:13 am

Search here for many posts with all the details on setting MW up to use gmail, I've posted several.

Short version go to gmail settings, enable pop, go to configure mail program, click other, put the settings found there (including the advanced ones) into MW and it will send your messages.