Error with 3.0 Beta

W. Eeken
It begins with a single step
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 5:21 am

Error with 3.0 Beta

Postby W. Eeken Fri Apr 07, 2017 2:50 am

I installed HideAwaySetup3.0.0beta.

When starting HideAway 3.0 I got the following message.
See
Error_Beta3.0.jpg
Error_Beta3.0.jpg (17 KiB) Viewed 765 times


I didn't uninstall HideAway 2.1.2.
Was that necessary?

regards
W. Eeken
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Posts: 13056
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Error with 3.0 Beta

Postby rusticdog Fri Apr 07, 2017 12:19 pm

Yes, HA2 needs to be uninstalled first. If you uninstall HA2, reboot the machine, then you should just be able to reinstall HA3 again.

If you do get the same error, then you need to uninstall HA3 (there's two entries in the Programs list for this), reboot, then reinstall.
Charly_at
Mystified Moa
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 11:36 pm
Location: Vienna Austria Europe
Contact:

Re: Error with 3.0 Beta

Postby Charly_at Mon Apr 10, 2017 12:16 am

Got the same Error Msg. - also after a "clean" deinstall + reboot ...

any other Idea ?


mfg Charly :no
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Posts: 13056
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Error with 3.0 Beta

Postby rusticdog Mon Apr 10, 2017 11:37 am

Try the steps posted here viewtopic.php?f=59&t=20751#p112523

Hopefully that kicks it into life
Baron
Student Sheep
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 7:37 am

Re: Error with 3.0 Beta

Postby Baron Thu Apr 27, 2017 6:09 am

Hi everyone, getting exact same error message with Hideaway 3.0.1 and uninstalling and re-installing, rebooting and generally doing what everyone recommends but getting nowhere.

Running the scripts from the cmd prompt also ends in failure..
HW cmd.JPG
HW cmd.JPG (48.76 KiB) Viewed 598 times


Any other suggestions? It appears to be looking for a driver.

I would add it worked perfectly until today..

Thanks...
Attachments
Hideaway 3.0.1 error.JPG
Hideaway 3.0.1 error.JPG (35.81 KiB) Viewed 598 times
User avatar
TrustFire
βeta Tester
Posts: 12124
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 11:04 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: Error with 3.0 Beta

Postby TrustFire Thu Apr 27, 2017 6:59 am

Are you seeing the HideAway folder, if you navigate manually to the following directory:—



If yes, are you seeing the following exact same contents in the HideAway folder:—

HideAway_Contents.png
HideAway_Contents.png (123.58 KiB) Viewed 596 times
MWP 7 disabled from the cloud (ßeta) | Windows 8.1 Pro (x64) | The Bat! Professional (ßeta) | Windows Firewall Control (WFC) | NOD32 EAV (ßeta) | Intel® HD Graphics 3000 | Internet Connection Speed (D=50 Mb/s U=3.5 Mb/s) | .NET Framework (4.7)
Baron
Student Sheep
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 7:37 am

Re: Error with 3.0 Beta

Postby Baron Mon May 29, 2017 10:44 pm

Hi there, I should have replied earlier but I have been unwell and didn't really feel up to messing with this, but today, I went for it again, downloaded Beta 3.3 and went for the install.

Curiously, a dialogue box popped up and said that installation could not be completed because the system had not been restarted since an older version was uninstalled, despite the fact that the 'system' in question has probably been rebooted many times since. This is something that is probably best understood by "experts" .. :bow

By the by, Beta 3.3.0 appears to be functioning as intended. Not sure what is different except the version I had problems with was 3.0.1

So, thanks chaps, for the moment at least, my issue is RESOLVED. :thumbsup
Baron
Student Sheep
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 7:37 am

Re: Error with 3.3 Beta

Postby Baron Thu Jun 01, 2017 6:00 am

Er,except no it isn't (resolved). When to open it today, and the icon has just plain disappeared from my desktop! Honestly, I have never before come across a piece of software that works (or doesn't) in such a strange fashion. :scratch :crazy I did a search for Hideaway on Windows 10 search bar. clicked on the icon when it came up (hooray, it found it!) but had the dreaded (you need to restart after the last version was uninstalled) nonsense dialogue box. What the...? Of course I restarted. Couldn't find the software, just a driver. Downloaded 3.3 again to be greeted by my old friend: THIS.

Shall I give up with this and assume I made a poor purchase? :help

and error msg (slightly different. Image attached)
Confirm folder contents identical with yours posted.. (image attached)
Attachments
HWfolder.JPG
HWfolder.JPG (35.68 KiB) Viewed 445 times
HW Error2.JPG
HW Error2.JPG (38.53 KiB) Viewed 445 times
HW 31.5.17.JPG
HW 31.5.17.JPG (37.5 KiB) Viewed 445 times
Baron
Student Sheep
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 7:37 am

Re: Error with 3.0 Beta

Postby Baron Sun Jun 18, 2017 7:04 am

Bump. Anybody? :help
User avatar
TrustFire
βeta Tester
Posts: 12124
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 11:04 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: Error with 3.0 Beta

Postby TrustFire Sun Jun 18, 2017 8:39 am

Download the full offline 3.3.0 installer (just keep it handy.)

Next, run RegEdit from an elevated command prompt and navigate to the following key:—

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager]

If you find a PendingFileRenameOperations key, just rename it to OldPendingFileRenameOperations — now, (without rebooting the system,) perform the installation using the (downloaded) offline 3.3.0 installer.


Baron wrote:Shall I give up with this and assume I made a poor purchase? :help

This is just in beta stage. ;)
MWP 7 disabled from the cloud (ßeta) | Windows 8.1 Pro (x64) | The Bat! Professional (ßeta) | Windows Firewall Control (WFC) | NOD32 EAV (ßeta) | Intel® HD Graphics 3000 | Internet Connection Speed (D=50 Mb/s U=3.5 Mb/s) | .NET Framework (4.7)
Baron
Student Sheep
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 7:37 am

Re: Error with 3.0 Beta

Postby Baron Wed Jun 21, 2017 10:18 pm

Sorry, more of same.

1.Registry Snapshot, your folder not present:
2: Following install attempt our old friend:
3. A reference to HW I found in the registry if this is any help.

4. I had the usual prompt to reboot:

So another complete fail.

In answer to your statement regarding 'beta stage' I did originally pay full price for Hideaway..so I 'trust' you can persevere and help me fix this thing.
Attachments
HWReboot.JPG
HWReboot.JPG (29.04 KiB) Viewed 284 times
HW Reg..JPG
HW Reg..JPG (87.23 KiB) Viewed 284 times
HW 21.6.2.JPG
HW 21.6.2.JPG (32.96 KiB) Viewed 284 times
HW 21.6.1.JPG
HW 21.6.1.JPG (74.39 KiB) Viewed 284 times
User avatar
TrustFire
βeta Tester
Posts: 12124
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 11:04 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: Error with 3.0 Beta

Postby TrustFire Wed Jun 21, 2017 10:23 pm

Not personally a big User of packet encryption — however, I'll install HideAway 3.3.0 later in the day and post a heads-up on the debris to clean-up to prep it for a clean re-install. ;)
MWP 7 disabled from the cloud (ßeta) | Windows 8.1 Pro (x64) | The Bat! Professional (ßeta) | Windows Firewall Control (WFC) | NOD32 EAV (ßeta) | Intel® HD Graphics 3000 | Internet Connection Speed (D=50 Mb/s U=3.5 Mb/s) | .NET Framework (4.7)
User avatar
TrustFire
βeta Tester
Posts: 12124
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 11:04 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: Error with 3.0 Beta

Postby TrustFire Wed Jun 21, 2017 11:24 pm

Disclaimer:—
    Beyond this line, you agree to use the following instruction-set at your own risk — please do not quote any part of this post. :)
Caution Note:—
    You might want to backup your existing system volume as a mirror image — something along the lines of Acronis True Image (with special reference to Windows 10.)

Please use the following steps — they are being posted on an inclusive basis:—
  1. Download the full, offline HideAway installer (just keep it handy.)
  2. Close HideAway.
  3. Run Task Manager to terminate any HideAway process (if running in the background.)
  4. Disable all components of your security system.
  5. Uninstall HideAway through the Add or Remove Programs — do not use a 3rd party uninstalling program.
  6. Restart your computer.

Most of the following debris might not exist — delete the following directories, shortcut and driver (if they are present):—

    Code: Select all

    C:\Program Files (x86)\HideAway Driver

    C:\Users\YourProfileName\AppData\Local\HideAway

    C:\Users\YourProfileName\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Firetrust Limited

    C:\Users\YourProfileName\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\User Pinned\StartMenu\HideAway.lnk

    C:\Windows\system32\drivers\hideaway.sys


Most of the following debris might not exist — run RegEdit from an elevated Command Prompt to delete the following registry keys (if they are present):—

    Code: Select all

    [-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\HideAwayDriver]

    [-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\hideaway]

    [-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Tracing\Update_RASAPI32]

    [-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Tracing\Update_RASMANCS]

    [-HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-3402131166-3968443340-784103032-1001\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\HideAway]

After deleting all the above debris, use the following steps:—
  1. Restart your computer.
  2. Disable all your security system, again.
  3. Perform the installation using the (downloaded) full, offline HideAway 3.3.0 installer.
  4. Don't forget to re-enable all components of your security system.
MWP 7 disabled from the cloud (ßeta) | Windows 8.1 Pro (x64) | The Bat! Professional (ßeta) | Windows Firewall Control (WFC) | NOD32 EAV (ßeta) | Intel® HD Graphics 3000 | Internet Connection Speed (D=50 Mb/s U=3.5 Mb/s) | .NET Framework (4.7)

Return to “HideAway”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest