AVG flags mailpv.exe

Whether you're a MailWasher veteran or complete newbie, all users are welcome to get together. Discussions include usage and possible problems.
WalterHawn
Rattled Rabbit

AVG flags mailpv.exe

Thu Apr 30, 2009 8:29 am

DLed and installed the newest MW (6.4) an hour or so ago. During its daily scan a few minutes ago, AVG flagged a file called 'mailpv.exe' in the installed MW directory as "Potentially harmful program HackTool.GUM"

It seems to be a DOS application, and its removal doesn't seem to upset mailwasher. I have no other information on it.

Any ideas?

Walt
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey

Re: AVG flags mailpv.exe

Thu Apr 30, 2009 4:44 pm

Yeah it's used when MailWasher imports your email accounts, as it's able to import your email passwords into MailWasher, so you won't have to remember what they are.

We'll likely remove it from the program though, the benefits of importing passwords isn't worth the hassle of AV programs firing all the time.
sndrdg
βeta Tester

Fri May 01, 2009 4:12 am

Mail PassView (mailpv.exe) has got to go - Sorry Chris for being so critical - but to use this password stealer even once (without implied or express permission of the user) is irresponsible - but to leave it around after installation and initial setup (and available to whomever) is VERY irresponsible. IMO, Future installs (if their will be any more) should remove this file and directory - and never install it again.
Very bad enhancement.

Regards,

Doug
Windows® 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit {EN}
AMD® Athalon™II x3 434 / Memory: 4GB
NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT (v341.44)
Thunderbird v2.0.0.24 / Firefox v53.0
Gmail via IMAP / Verizon Digital Voice via POP3
MailWasherPRO - v7.7
Al Darby
Guardian Gecko

Fri May 01, 2009 8:14 pm

FWIW, I agree with Doug, not exceedingly good practice.
Al
I come from a LAN downunder

3.6GHz Core i7 | 24GB RAM | 6TB HDD (1TB Samsung 850 EVO SSD)
Win 7 Ultimate x64 SP1 | VMWare for WinXP
(WinXP Mode Sux)
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey