Training

Whether you're a MailWasher veteran or complete newbie, all users are welcome to get together. Discussions include usage and possible problems.
Deepeejay
Rattled Rabbit

Training

Thu Jan 01, 2015 6:28 pm

I'm fed up with the same old spams appearing on my Gmail accounts so I decided to use Mailwasher to bounce them.

I regularly use 3 gmail accounts and they are all registered on Mailwasher . The accounts are all several years old and there are more than 9000 emails on the Google servers.
Mailwasher started by displaying several hundred emails from each account and I have reviewed all of them, marking them as from friends - clearly no spam was present.
I'm not sure what to do next.
When I logged on this morning Mailwasher started after my browser so my gmail main account presented me with 4 OK emails and one piece of spam - obviously I need to delay launching the browser to give Mailwasher a chance to work.

So.......

1) I thought of deleting all entries from the list but it's not clear whether that will delete them from the Google server.

2) No fresh entries are being displayed for further training.

Comments and help would be appreciated.

Deepeejay
ataraxy
Knowledgeable Kea

Re: Training

Thu Jan 01, 2015 8:35 pm

A few points that may help:

1. Bouncing is of little use, and is unlikely to reduce the amount of spam you get.

2. Rather than bouncing, I think that you'll get better results using Gmail's own spam reporting function. If you really want to have an effect, start reporting spam to SpamCop. There are SpamCop instructions for the new version of MailWasher at http://forum.firetrust.com/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=10200 but they should be pretty applicable to the old version. If you need instructions for this version, search this forum. Note that reporting to SpamCop is unlikely to have much effect for at least 6 months.

3. You said: