Unclean Shutdown

Whether you're a MailWasher veteran or complete newbie, all users are welcome to get together. Discussions include usage and possible problems.
Isilay
Rattled Rabbit
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 6:12 am

Unclean Shutdown

Sat Sep 20, 2008 6:24 am

Hi,

I have MW Pro 6.2.1 which worked correctly. Since a few days when I shut down my computer appears for a very short time a small window indicating " Unclean shutdown ". I tried to diagnose the reason and finally I remark that when I uninstall MV I don't have this window. Is any reason known by MW community for this?
Thanks for your help.
Kind regards.

Isilay
User avatar
stan_qaz
Omniscient Kiwi
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 8671
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 5:13 am

Re: Unclean Shutdown

Sat Sep 20, 2008 7:30 am

Sounds like MW wasn't closed using the X button or File menu option, that can lead to file corruption if windows does not allow it time to close everything, that is made worse by virus and other scanners that may add time to the MW shutdown process.

'd hang on for an official answer to your getting it fixed question and see if there isn't a simple way to do it. Deleteing the files in the MW data directory (shown on help - about) should clear it up but that might be a bit more drastic than needed.
Isilay
Rattled Rabbit
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 6:12 am

Re: Unclean Shutdown

Sat Sep 20, 2008 8:00 pm

Thanks for your reply,

Even when I close MW through X or File->Close Unclean Shutdown appears.I don't understand why it does not close properly. I scanned with my AV program no virus founded. I don't find shown on help-about files in MV data directory ( C->Programs->FireTrust->MWPro).

Isilay
User avatar
mlrichardson
Active Albatross
Location: Salinas, California, USA
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 7:13 pm

Re: Unclean Shutdown

Sat Sep 27, 2008 7:32 pm

Simply, does MWP seem to be doing its job while you're getting these error messages? ie marking and deleting mail as required? If it seems to be sluggish or it doesn't seem to be doing its job properly, the likelyhood of a mangled data file is high - not to mention, a reason for the error message. If you have backups (there's a posting back on Castle Cops about the reasoning and method of backing up the data files regularly), you might just replace your current ones with the backups and see if that does away with the error message.

BTW, the files you want to look for are the ones listed last on the "Help/About" page - the ones found in C:\Documents and Settings... etc. on XP.
Mike Richardson
MS Windows 10 Pro
Vipre Internet Security
Firefox 27.0, Thunderbird 24.3.0, MWPro, WP Office X3

Suppose you were an idiot, and suppose you were a member of Congress; but I repeat myself.
Mark Twain

Return to “Troubleshooting and Help for MailWasher 5 and 6”