Password not recognised consecutively

Whether you're a MailWasher veteran or complete newbie, all users are welcome to get together. Discussions include usage and possible problems.
frayedknotarts
Mystified Moa

Password not recognised consecutively

Tue Sep 23, 2008 2:19 pm

Mailwasher PRO 3.3.0 on WIN 98SE d/l Comcast webmail

I have a problem in that the password for the mail account at COMCAST is repeatedly not recognized by Mailwasher... yet after telling it OK in the splash box and closing all subsequent boxes, mail immediately downloads and will continue to do so for some period of time (set to check every 10 minutes). It can be right away, an hour or a day or two, but the "bad password" box will eventually show up again. Re-entering the password in the appropriate place in the splashbox does no good, nor does checking the "remember" box. :shock:

If it did it all the time, I'd just delete and reload programme, but it's so inconsistant I thought I'd check in here first. I'd not want to lose any settings and the spam lists.

Far too good a programme to just ditch it... have been using it for better than five years and couldn't be happier (most of the time!)

Any suggestions will be appreciated.

Vince Brennan (reg)
Philadelphia PA
A library of pictures of KNOTWORK for your perusal and amusement, commercial free...
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey

Re: Password not recognised consecutively

Tue Sep 23, 2008 2:55 pm

In some situations email servers send errors back after MailWasher has sent the password, in this case we assume it's a bad password error, however that is not always the case. The errors don't come with machine readable reasons, meaning the only part of the error we can understand is -ERR