Not all spam recognized

Whether you're a MailWasher veteran or complete newbie, all users are welcome to get together. Discussions include usage and possible problems.
Kafka
Travelling Tuatara

Not all spam recognized

Mon Jan 27, 2020 1:16 pm

I have had Mailwasher Free for several years. Of late I am finding that not all emails are shown as being either spam or legitimate (i.e. they are not highlighted in either red or green). Is this because Mailwasher Free will only look at a limited number of emails?
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey

Re: Not all spam recognized

Mon Jan 27, 2020 1:18 pm

Hi there

No, there's no limit like that. First thing I would check is under Settings >> General >> Checking Mail >> have the Spam Throttle set to at least 200 lines per email, that should give MailWasher enough data to work with.

Failing that, it couldn't hurt to get some logs, in case there is something odd going on.
To do that go Help >> Send Support Logs >> enter a brief description like 'learning not working well' >> in the Ticket Number field enter chris >> Send Logs >> reply back here once sent, so I can check the logs arrived all OK.

Thanks
Kafka
Travelling Tuatara

Mon Jan 27, 2020 1:24 pm

Thanks,

I have set the throttle to 320. Hopefully this will do the trick.

Regards,
Michael
Kafka
Travelling Tuatara

Wed Jan 29, 2020 12:55 pm

Thanks Chris,

Setting the Spam Throttle to 320 didn't have any apparent effect. I have forwarded you the Support Logs (though I wasn't told whether they had been sent).

Regards, Michael
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey

Wed Jan 29, 2020 1:57 pm

I can't see anything obvious, so this is a touch puzzling. But I can see MailWasher making some detections, and it is adding emails to the learning, so nothing serious at least.

The storage of your good/spam probabilities do look light, which might be the reason. As a small comparison, my MailWasher has 4x the information and I fully reset mine back in September.