MAILWASHER FREE ISN'T BOUNCING MY EMAILS

Whether you're a MailWasher veteran or complete newbie, all users are welcome to get together. Discussions include usage and possible problems.
pegasus
Rattled Rabbit

MAILWASHER FREE ISN'T BOUNCING MY EMAILS

Thu Nov 12, 2009 12:30 pm

I got Mailwasher Free to make sure the program does what I want it to do before upgrading to Pro.

It doesn't.

I can't get it to bounce an email. I tried the suggested test of sending an email to myself and then bouncing it -- I even sent myself an email from several different email addresses. NONE of them got bounced.

My ISP is Charter, and I know that Charter's SMTP Server Address is smtp.charter.net. So I have it configured correctly.

Can anyone tell me what's wrong. I certainly don't want to actually pay for this program if it's not going to bounce emails.
stan_qaz
Omniscient Kiwi

Re: MAILWASHER FREE ISN'T BOUNCING MY EMAILS

Thu Nov 12, 2009 1:03 pm

I guess the first question is why do you want to bounce e-mail messages and a follow on is who is sending you the messages you want to bounce. I realize that the questions don't directly relate to your question but they are important ones.

Most spam is being sent using forged addresses so no program can bounce it back to the sender, all they can do is create a forged bounce message and send it to the address that the spammer has included in the header. Spammers usually use either random made-up addresses or use ones that they have stolen from others, in either case your forged bounce will not go back to the spammer, it will either clog up your ISPs mail server for a while until it is dropped if the address is made-up or it will go to an innocent person if it is stolen. worse many spam services will accept forged bounce messages as proof of abuse and will block the sending mail server, not something any ISP wants to happen as all customer's mail may be affected.