Mailwasher Pro 6.5.4 continually hanging/crashing

Whether you're a MailWasher veteran or complete newbie, all users are welcome to get together. Discussions include usage and possible problems.
martinlest
Travelling Tuatara

Mailwasher Pro 6.5.4 continually hanging/crashing

Sun Oct 10, 2021 5:14 am

Hi. Could anyone kindly help me with this?

When I open MW, it invariably hangs within a few seconds. Clicking on any part of it will show 'Not responding' and I have to force the window shut from the toolbar.

If I then reopen MW, it works fine, but once closed down again (or minimized to the tray), the same thing will happen later at the next mail check.

If I bring up the 'error digest', it's empty. Is there a log file I can attach that would help? None seems to have a modified file date at any time near the error...

Using Windows 10 Home (21H1) x64

Thank you.
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey

Re: Mailwasher Pro 6.5.4 continually hanging/crashing

Tue Oct 12, 2021 3:06 pm

Hi there

Try first going into Help >> About >> open the link to where MailWasher stores the data files >> go back and close MailWasher so it's not running >> back in the folder you just opened go into the Training folder >> delete the file TrainingMA.dat >> restart MailWasher.

MailWasher will rebuild this file when opened, and hopefully correct the issue. If problems persist, let me know.

Cheers
martinlest
Travelling Tuatara

Wed Oct 13, 2021 3:44 am

Hello. Perhaps early days, but I haven't had the issue since following your instructions above. Thank you.
martinlest
Travelling Tuatara

Wed Oct 13, 2021 8:49 pm

I am afraid this problem has started again - am I going to have to keep deleting the said file? This is a new problem... I have had MW for many years without encountering this before.
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey

Wed Oct 13, 2021 8:54 pm

Let's try getting a log file and see if that hints at might what be going on. Unfortunately the system for getting this is a little tedious...