Phishing email address gets onto whitelist ...

Whether you're a MailWasher veteran or complete newbie, all users are welcome to get together. Discussions include usage and possible problems.
sparge
Mystified Moa

Phishing email address gets onto whitelist ...

Fri Oct 24, 2008 7:44 pm

... without me putting it there. Just (a few days ago) updated to v6.3 after a long time at v5.0. This morning when Mailwasher finished checking my email, it included a phishing email from "Lloyds TSB" that was flagged as Friend. There's no way I put it on my whitelist on purpose, and Right-Click - Select Add to friends list is not the sort of thing that gets done by accident! Which leaves me with the third option, which is rather worrying. I have now unchecked and deleted it but the question is, how did it get there in the first place?

I'm sure I remember this happening before, a long time ago, as a hard enough search of the Castlecops archive might even bear out. At the time I think it was concluded that I must somehow have done it myself.

I've recently finished going through the Castlecops malware removal procedure, because of a number of recent observations of suspicious symptoms, any of which individually could be written off, but together were enough to get me worried. Apart from the usual collection of tracking cookies, nothing showed up. Now I have another little item for my suspicious list.

Any ideas? Anyone else ever observed anything like this?

Andy
stan_qaz
Omniscient Kiwi

Re: Phishing email address gets onto whitelist ...

Sat Oct 25, 2008 4:44 am

I've been using MW for years too and have never had something added to the Friends or Black lists unless I either did it or I had one of my spam tools set to add it.
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey

Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:49 pm

When you train an email as Good that is probably also adding to the Friends List, so might have just been a slip of a click, and training the email that did this.
sparge
Mystified Moa