Loading Error

User avatar
TrustFire
βeta Tester
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 12744
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 11:04 pm

Re: Loading Error

Tue May 19, 2015 4:29 pm

tiger1john wrote:No joy :( Switching off anti-virus, adding program to firewall, no difference. Still hanging on loading.
It looks to me as though you might have HIPS or some form of Anti-executable running in your system. :scratch
MWP 7 (ßeta) | Windows 10 Pro (x64) | The Bat! Professional (ßeta) | Windows 10 Firewall Control (ßeta) | ESET Endpoint Antivirus (ßeta) | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 | Internet Connection Speed (D=50 Mb/s, U=3.5 Mb/s) | .NET Framework (4.8)
User avatar
TrustFire
βeta Tester
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 12744
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 11:04 pm

Re: Loading Error

Tue May 19, 2015 5:20 pm

Is this the exact same error that you are seeing:--
HideAway.png
HideAway.png (8.36 KiB) Viewed 4666 times
MWP 7 (ßeta) | Windows 10 Pro (x64) | The Bat! Professional (ßeta) | Windows 10 Firewall Control (ßeta) | ESET Endpoint Antivirus (ßeta) | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 | Internet Connection Speed (D=50 Mb/s, U=3.5 Mb/s) | .NET Framework (4.8)
User avatar
anniebrion
βeta Tester
Contact:
Location: Milkyway, Sol, Earth, UK, London
Posts: 3209
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 10:39 am

Re: Loading Error

Tue May 19, 2015 8:30 pm

I was getting that error under Windows 10 when I'd forgotten to uninstall the previous version.
Annie.......... PC details (see Web Server) - link only available between 9am and 10pm (UK)
Mailwasher Pro βeta [v 7.12.6]
User avatar
tiger1john
Student Sheep
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 7:01 am

Re: Loading Error

Tue May 19, 2015 8:31 pm

I never had an earlier version installed, and no - not looking for an Internet connection. It is a "Loading rules" animated arrow gif that wont clear
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Contact:
Posts: 14280
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm

Re: Loading Error

Tue May 19, 2015 8:33 pm

tiger1john wrote:Tricky for me, as your working hours are mine as well. I am willing though, post 17:30 GMT
I tend to shift a bit. I'm online for the next 6 hours, otherwise we can arrange another day.

We're just digging around another issue, you haven't cloned your MAC address have you ?
User avatar
tiger1john
Student Sheep
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 7:01 am

Re: Loading Error

Tue May 19, 2015 8:38 pm

rusticdog wrote:
tiger1john wrote:Tricky for me, as your working hours are mine as well. I am willing though, post 17:30 GMT
I tend to shift a bit. I'm online for the next 6 hours, otherwise we can arrange another day.

We're just digging around another issue, you haven't cloned your MAC address have you ?
I cant make it within 6 hours, sorry. I wont be away from work for another 8 hours. Nope - I have not cloned my MAC address. No idea how to do that (or why)!
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Contact:
Posts: 14280
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm

Re: Loading Error

Tue May 19, 2015 8:54 pm

No problems, I'll find a way to work around the times and get to you.

If you're up to it of course you can do it yourself, as all we're trying to do is get the logging.

It involves replacing the HideAway executable with the debug one, and visiting a local address via Chrome which opens the Chromium Development Tools >> from there it's matter of just selecting the logging and copy/pasting into a text file.

So if that sounds like *fun*, let me know and I'll email the details.
User avatar
tiger1john
Student Sheep
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 7:01 am

Re: Loading Error

Tue May 19, 2015 9:06 pm

Yep - I can do that. Does sound like fun. Thanks
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Contact:
Posts: 14280
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm

Re: Loading Error

Wed May 20, 2015 4:37 pm

You should be good now, just restart HideAway. The issue was in the way one of the rules was crafted, when you filter by process, just enter it's name like firefox.exe

We've also looked to add in some protections around rules that might not be interpreted right by the software.

Let me know how it goes


Cheers
User avatar
tiger1john
Student Sheep
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 7:01 am

Re: Loading Error

Wed May 20, 2015 7:56 pm

Thank you. I will test tonight. It guess it would be helpful if users could amend rules that are wrong, after the loading process had ignored bad rules.

The support you have provided has been excellent. I am totally impressed :D
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Contact:
Posts: 14280
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm

Re: Loading Error

Wed May 20, 2015 7:58 pm

tiger1john wrote:Thank you. I will test tonight. It guess it would be helpful if users could amend rules that are wrong, after the loading process had ignored bad rules.

The support you have provided has been excellent. I am totally impressed :D
No worries, thanks for taking the time to create the log file, pointed the guys in the right direction immediately.

It's not ideal, but right now if you create a "bad" rule, the filter gets saved but the bad rule is removed. The intent is to provide feedback in the user interface for this, but that'll take a little more time.
User avatar
tiger1john
Student Sheep
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 7:01 am

Re: Loading Error

Thu May 21, 2015 5:23 am

All working tickety-boo, thanks a million for your focus and support.
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Contact:
Posts: 14280
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm

Re: Loading Error

Thu May 21, 2015 3:32 pm

tiger1john wrote:All working tickety-boo, thanks a million for your focus and support.
Great :thumbsup
watsonm
Travelling Tuatara
Location: UK
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 5:05 am

Re: Loading Error

Fri Mar 18, 2016 10:05 am

Sorry to hi jack this thread but I have ended up in this situation. Hideaway is in the constant loop of loading rules. Hideaway had been working (and paid for), I then added the trial version to another PC and when I logged on it asked me to select the master or add another device. When I added another device it just sat looking for rules as per previous posts. I then uninstalled it on the second PC but when I went back to the first PC I ended up in the same loop, no matter whether I selected Master or added another PC. When I added the first PC with a name it wanted the registration code but said it was already in use.

Device : Master, machine a , machine B

So now I have paid for one license and cannot get either machine to run. If it is a bad rule that is causing the problem is there any way I can delete it .

Also deleted the C:\Users\{username}\AppData\Roaming\Firetrust\HideAway\Engine\Local Storage directory contents
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Contact:
Posts: 14280
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm

Re: Loading Error

Fri Mar 18, 2016 2:25 pm

Should be all sorted now for you Mike


Thanks

Return to “HideAway”