Error upon start

recremar
Rattled Rabbit
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 4:00 am

Error upon start

Thu Jun 11, 2015 4:10 am

Program errors out within 5-10 secs upon loading. Attached is a png of the error message. System is Win 8.1 Pro, Intel i7, 16 gb mem, ssd. I have tried reinstalling and rebooting and always the same error. Solution/suggestions on how to resolve? Thanks.
Attachments
hideaway error.png
hideaway error.png (7.99 KiB) Viewed 2306 times
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Contact:
Posts: 14280
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm

Re: Error upon start

Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:12 pm

That's a new one to me

Can I get your first to post your installation log. In the folder C:\Program Files (x86)\Firetrust\HideAway there is the install.log file
If you can copy/paste the contents of that back here it would be appreciated


Thanks
rd
User avatar
TrustFire
βeta Tester
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 12744
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 11:04 pm

Re: Error upon start

Thu Jun 11, 2015 2:49 pm

That is an extremely rare error (for any program) - are you running HideAway in Compatibility Mode?
MWP 7 (ßeta) | Windows 10 Pro (x64) | The Bat! Professional (ßeta) | Windows 10 Firewall Control (ßeta) | ESET Endpoint Antivirus (ßeta) | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 | Internet Connection Speed (D=50 Mb/s, U=3.5 Mb/s) | .NET Framework (4.8)
recremar
Rattled Rabbit
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 4:00 am

Re: Error upon start

Fri Jun 12, 2015 2:01 am

Attached is the install log requested. As for compatibility mode it is the default. Trying administrator and/or Win 7 produces the same error.
Attachments
Install.log
(1.36 KiB) Downloaded 119 times
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Contact:
Posts: 14280
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm

Re: Error upon start

Fri Jun 12, 2015 2:29 am

Can you try uninstalling and reinstalling into the default folder and see if that stops the crashes ?
recremar
Rattled Rabbit
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 4:00 am

Re: Error upon start

Fri Jun 12, 2015 4:29 am

Resolved the problem. Ran sfc /scannow and it found errors it couldn't fix. Reviewed CBS.log and found two .json files were corrupt. Did google search and found this link - http://thetechcookbook.com/windows-8-up ... upt-files/. Ran the fix, rebooted and Hideaway loaded without error. Can now test program.
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Contact:
Posts: 14280
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm

Re: Error upon start

Fri Jun 12, 2015 11:30 am

Excellent, great to know in future as well.

Many thanks :thumbsup

Return to “HideAway”