HideAway Not Working

Andrew42
Active Albatross
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:43 am

HideAway Not Working

Sat Jul 11, 2015 4:36 am

Either there are some real issues with HideAway or I am failing to understand how it should work. Since posting earlier today about a problem with an HP printer working with WiFi I have gone to our weekend place with my Laptop which is the only computer which is linked to HideAway and so presumably is the "Master". Obvioulsy I'm on a different wifi network. I have two, for me, major problems.

1. If I log in to HideAway I am unable to download anything thing on the internet or connect to Microsoft Exchange: i.e. I cannot operate.

2. I am having the same printing issue as previously reported but with a different model of HP printer.

However the moment I log off HideAway, my internet works, Exchange works and I can print.

Help, please.
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Contact:
Posts: 14278
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm

Re: HideAway Not Working

Sat Jul 11, 2015 3:37 pm

I'll have to check about the printers, though if you have a global rule that redirects all traffic, it's probably going to try to connect to the printer through that rule rather than locally, which can disturb things.

Possible too that your weekend place cannot access the server used in the global rule, if one is present, try changing to a different country and see it that works.
Andrew42
Active Albatross
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:43 am

Re: HideAway Not Working

Sat Jul 11, 2015 7:22 pm

As mentioned in the previous message, the IP address for the printer to which I am currently connected is 192.168.1.100.

The weekend place is only 100 miles from our Home and has as good if not better fibre optic service. However, if I log in to HideAway and then try to change the rule for another country HideAway spins and then gives me the following error message. "Unable to contact server. Check your internet connection".

I have tried uninstalling and re-installing HideAway: no change.

The only way I can send this message to you is to be logged off HideAway.
Andrew42
Active Albatross
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:43 am

Re: HideAway Not Working

Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:37 pm

I have tried some tests this weekend:-
1. It does not matter through which server I send all traffic: nothing works
2. Connected to HideAway and redirecting all traffic windows7 tells me it there is a DNS problem
3. I can select a rule when logged in to HideAway but cannot deselect one. The only way I have found to deselect a rule is to try and while the icon is spinning log off then log back on.
I hope this helps and I hope you can suggest some solutions before I leave here on Tuesday morning Swiss time.
ataraxy
Knowledgeable Kea
Posts: 1727
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 1:17 pm

Re: HideAway Not Working

Mon Jul 13, 2015 8:24 pm

Sounds like access to the HideAway servers is blocked for some reason.

What happens when you go to the Speed tab in HideAway? Do you get any results?

Are you using the same ISP at your weekend place and at your regular place?
Windows 10
Andrew42
Active Albatross
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:43 am

Re: HideAway Not Working

Mon Jul 13, 2015 9:40 pm

Thank you for responding. The ping test works as usual. No I am not using the same ISP. I have Swisscom at Home and Sierre-Energie in the chalet. I have even tried shutting down my Firewall and all protection. It makes no difference.
ataraxy
Knowledgeable Kea
Posts: 1727
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 1:17 pm

Re: HideAway Not Working

Tue Jul 14, 2015 2:21 am

The only other thing that I can think to try is a direct connection to the internet, i.e. bypassing your router. However, I don't know whether this would be possible, as I don't know how things are set up for you. Failing that, you could try altering your router set up so that one of the ports provides a direct connection to the internet. Usually this is referred to as a DMZ setting. You'll need to refer to your router manual for information here.

For either of these, make sure that your firewall and security software are running.

But if I had to bet, I'd say that this is something to do with the Sierre-Energie set up. You'll need Firetrust to help with that: support@firetrust.com
Windows 10
Andrew42
Active Albatross
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:43 am

Re: HideAway Not Working

Tue Jul 14, 2015 3:51 am

Tks. If they do not respond to the forum, I will go direct.
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Contact:
Posts: 14278
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm

Re: HideAway Not Working

Tue Jul 14, 2015 2:05 pm

if you uninstall and go back to 1.2.0 does everything just magically work again ? This like the printer issue only started with 1.3.0 correct ?
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Contact:
Posts: 14278
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm

Re: HideAway Not Working

Tue Jul 14, 2015 3:59 pm

Actually first, under Settings >> change the port to 80, see if that helps. Maybe 8080 is being blocked.
Andrew42
Active Albatross
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:43 am

Re: HideAway Not Working

Tue Jul 14, 2015 6:23 pm

Changed Port to 80. That made no difference and also invalidated three of my rules.
Andrew42
Active Albatross
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:43 am

Re: HideAway Not Working

Tue Jul 14, 2015 6:31 pm

I will try and reinstall 1.2 up here before I leave, if I have time. Otherwise I will do it when I get home later today and let you know the result.
Andrew42
Active Albatross
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:43 am

Re: HideAway Not Working

Tue Jul 14, 2015 7:11 pm

I have uninstalled 1.3 and reinstalled 1.2-

The printer issue is resolved so there seems to be a problem with 1.3.

The Internet connect is curious. I am writing this response connected to the forum via HideAway and Help. It seems to be working. However I cannot connect with IE and Exchange is not working.

Any thoughts on that?
User avatar
nick.bolton
The Big Cheese
Posts: 1972
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:02 pm

Re: HideAway Not Working

Tue Jul 14, 2015 9:09 pm

We'll have one of the developers back from illness tomorrow so he'll be able to take a good look at the setup. Also that error message you posted in the other forum post at http://forum.firetrust.com/viewtopic.ph ... 273#p97273

When you use IE, if you go to the Traffic screen, can you see any traffic called iexplore.exe being used? (bytes in and out)
Andrew42
Active Albatross
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:43 am

Re: HideAway Not Working

Tue Jul 14, 2015 9:58 pm

Does this help? I also sent you an email about one hour ago.
Attachments
Grimentz Internet Issue.jpg
Grimentz Internet Issue.jpg (224.92 KiB) Viewed 6018 times

Return to “HideAway”