Add Another/Second PC to Existing License

Schmidthouse
Student Sheep
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 4:14 am

Add Another/Second PC to Existing License

Sun Oct 25, 2015 9:55 am

I've tried to install HideAway on second Laptop with same account email and license as my first(Master) etc but doesn't want to work ,
Keeps crashing HideAway
What am I doing wrong.
THnx.

Edit: I understand that you can use HA( same license) on more then one computer; Only not at the same time (Concurrent).
Is this correct please??
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Contact:
Posts: 14280
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm

Re: Add Another/Second PC to Existing License

Tue Oct 27, 2015 1:27 pm

Hi there


If you reinstall HideAway >> reboot the machine >> try again and see if it still crashes.
Also what security software are you using ?

For the license, that is correct. You can use on multiple machines just not at the same time.
Schmidthouse
Student Sheep
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 4:14 am

Re: Add Another/Second PC to Existing License

Wed Oct 28, 2015 5:10 am

Thanks for your time, appreciated.
Would one select the 2nd PC in HA as 'also Master' (same as 1st PC) or "add another Device/PC"?
I have a layered Security Profile with My Internet Security being KTS 2016.
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Contact:
Posts: 14280
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm

Re: Add Another/Second PC to Existing License

Wed Oct 28, 2015 1:12 pm

Schmidthouse wrote:Thanks for your time, appreciated.
Would one select the 2nd PC in HA as 'also Master' (same as 1st PC) or "add another Device/PC"?
I have a layered Security Profile with My Internet Security being KTS 2016.
Yes, the license is tied to the profile, so you'd need to choose the same profile on the 2nd machine.
Schmidthouse
Student Sheep
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 4:14 am

Re: Add Another/Second PC to Existing License

Wed Oct 28, 2015 2:19 pm

Thanks again rusticdog for taking time.
I did what you suggested.
Clean install of HA then Reboot.
As soon as I enter the email and password of the HA account and choose 'Master' for this second machine I get an instant crash.
Seems pretty straight forward, but Not working for me
Error message attached screenshot.
Attachments
Untitled.jpg
Untitled.jpg (197.48 KiB) Viewed 3831 times
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Contact:
Posts: 14280
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm

Re: Add Another/Second PC to Existing License

Wed Oct 28, 2015 2:20 pm

Any special security software running on that machine ?
Schmidthouse
Student Sheep
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 4:14 am

Re: Add Another/Second PC to Existing License

Wed Oct 28, 2015 2:22 pm

KTS for Internet Security
Malwarebytes Anti Exploit
WinPatrol Plus
Voodoo Shield
Crypto Prevent.

Edit: I should mention now as soon as I .exe HA it crashes immediately.
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Contact:
Posts: 14280
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm

Re: Add Another/Second PC to Existing License

Wed Oct 28, 2015 2:26 pm

Kaspersky Total Security ? There is a feature of Kaspersky products called Self Defense, which prevents the HideAway driver from being installed properly, so try assuming it has that same option, try disabling that. You'll need to uninstall >> reinstall >> HideAway as well unfortunately.

http://forum.firetrust.com/viewtopic.php?f=59&t=16500


Kaspersky told us it will be fixed in their 2016 iterations, but you already seem to be on the new releases.
Schmidthouse
Student Sheep
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 4:14 am

Re: Add Another/Second PC to Existing License

Wed Oct 28, 2015 2:31 pm

Thanks/ Yes my KTS is up to date.
I will try what you suggest.
**** Interestingly the first machine has exactly the same Security profile and HA installed smoothly, although first machine is W10 64 Bit
AND the second machine (problem machine) is W 8.1 64 Bit
I'll let you know.
Schmidthouse
Student Sheep
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 4:14 am

Re: Add Another/Second PC to Existing License

Wed Oct 28, 2015 2:41 pm

rusticdog wrote:Kaspersky Total Security ? There is a feature of Kaspersky products called Self Defense, which prevents the HideAway driver from being installed properly, so try assuming it has that same option, try disabling that. You'll need to uninstall >> reinstall >> HideAway as well unfortunately.

http://forum.firetrust.com/viewtopic.php?f=59&t=16500


Kaspersky told us it will be fixed in their 2016 iterations, but you already seem to be on the new releases.
Thanks again, that worked nicely.

Return to “HideAway”