Hideaway appears not to be working

User avatar
Jancux
Travelling Tuatara
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 2:35 am

Hideaway appears not to be working

Tue Aug 23, 2016 12:58 am

I have Hideaway on two PC’s both of which are now showing the same weird
condition.
The software appears not to be working at all!

I am able to log onto sites which should be blocked from if I am seen as being not in the UK.
Sky Player being a good example.
This used to be not the case! Everything worked as expected
It would appear that whichever Location I choose (ie Amsterdam) my browsers still sees me as being in the UK.
Help Please!
Last edited by Jancux on Tue Aug 23, 2016 1:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Jancux
Travelling Tuatara
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 2:35 am

Re: Hideaway appears not to be working

Tue Aug 23, 2016 1:28 am

Update to my Post
Even the OOKLA Speed Test (www.speedtest.net) shows me as being in based in Hull (UK), when it should show me as being in Amsterdam my chosen Location!
Thats proof enough for me to say the software is not working!
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Contact:
Posts: 14286
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm

Re: Hideaway appears not to be working

Tue Aug 23, 2016 1:47 am

Try uninstalling >> reinstalling first. Hopefully that kicks it back into life.
http://www.firetrust.com/products/hidea ... n/download

Also what version Windows are you using ?
User avatar
Jancux
Travelling Tuatara
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 2:35 am

Re: Hideaway appears not to be working

Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:17 am

Done that!
No change!
Using Vesion 1.4.0
User avatar
ajwnet
Mystified Moa
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 14, 2016 4:44 am

Re: Hideaway appears not to be working

Tue Aug 23, 2016 5:27 am

Same problem here. Hidaway not working (Windows 10 Home).
Launch Hideaway, rules appear.
Speed test / ping is much slower than normal.
Using built-in rule for "Torrents", but after opening uTorrent.exe, all "uTorrent.exe" traffic appears under "Other".
Have uninstalled and reinstalled latest version of Hideaway, before and after reboot, no joy.
Any ideas? Thanks in advance.
User avatar
Jancux
Travelling Tuatara
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 2:35 am

Re: Hideaway appears not to be working

Tue Aug 23, 2016 5:54 am

I am using Windows 10 and Windows 8.1
Both have the same problem. :help
RedNecker
It begins with a single step
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 7:32 am

Re: Hideaway appears not to be working

Tue Aug 23, 2016 7:37 am

Same here. WIN10.

Reinstalled 3 times, shut down in between.

Rule show ok, speed works, traffic works.

15K thru HideAway, 153 MB non-hideaway
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Contact:
Posts: 14286
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm

Re: Hideaway appears not to be working

Tue Aug 23, 2016 12:46 pm

Server issues are now all sorted, so should be back in business. Apologies for the delay, this is the first time this particular has happened, so took us a bit by surprise.

Cheers
User avatar
ajwnet
Mystified Moa
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 14, 2016 4:44 am

Re: Hideaway appears not to be working

Tue Aug 23, 2016 5:22 pm

Confirmed, now works on Windows 10 Home. - traffic now being handled correctly - great job, thanks guys. :bow
User avatar
Jancux
Travelling Tuatara
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 2:35 am

Re: Hideaway appears not to be working

Tue Aug 23, 2016 7:09 pm

Good to wake up and find everything working.
Many thanks for job done!
:thumbsup :cheers

Return to “HideAway”