HideAway appears not to be working

User avatar
Jancux
Travelling Tuatara
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 2:35 am

HideAway appears not to be working

Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:53 pm

All of my previously accessible Web Sites are now being Blocked.
It does not make any difference changing the Location.
What has happened?
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Contact:
Posts: 14280
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm

Re: HideAway appears not to be working

Fri Jan 13, 2017 12:25 am

Try just reinstalling over the top, I assume it's 1.4.0 ?
If so, then download link http://www.hideawayvpn.com/download
User avatar
Jancux
Travelling Tuatara
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 2:35 am

Re: HideAway appears not to be working

Fri Jan 13, 2017 12:34 am

Before posting the question I Did do a total uninstall of the software followed by reinstalling.
It made no difference!
User avatar
Jancux
Travelling Tuatara
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 2:35 am

Re: HideAway appears not to be working

Fri Jan 13, 2017 12:38 am

Before posting the question I DID totally uninstall the software, followed by reinstalling.
It made no difference.
Yes I am using version 1.4.0 on a Windows 10 System and Windows 8.1 System ..Both machines are effected.
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Contact:
Posts: 14280
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm

Re: HideAway appears not to be working

Fri Jan 13, 2017 12:44 am

But both were working previously ? Has anything changed that you can think of ?

You could check the machines are on IPv6, which isn't supported by that version of HideAway. Though if both IPv4 and IPv6 are enabled, HideAway should work all OK.


Click Start, and then click Control Panel.
Click Network and Sharing Center.
In the View your active networks area, click your active network connections listed by "Connections" and then click Properties.
On the Networking tab, clear the Internet Protocol Version 6 (TCP/IPv6) check box, and then click OK.
User avatar
Jancux
Travelling Tuatara
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 2:35 am

Re: HideAway appears not to be working

Fri Jan 13, 2017 3:48 am

Everything was working fine yesterday evening and absolutely nothing has changed since then.
Have followed your instructions (see attached file); but that changed nothing.

It just a appears as thought my ISP (TalkTalk) knows that I am going through a different route.
Attachments
File1.jpg
File1.jpg (33.92 KiB) Viewed 4788 times
User avatar
Jancux
Travelling Tuatara
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 2:35 am

Re: HideAway appears not to be working

Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:48 am

Another piece of confirming information:-
When the software was working running Speedtest;-

http://www.speedtest.net/

Always showed the Host as being from where I had selected; now it always shows my local Host
as if Hideaway were not running
User avatar
nick.bolton
The Big Cheese
Posts: 1973
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:02 pm

Re: HideAway appears not to be working

Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:28 am

Hi

Can you check Hideaway is still allowed through your firewall (Windows and Antivirus). Also, if you go to http://ipv6-test.com/ does it give you an IPv4 address and a IPv6 address?

Thanks
User avatar
Jancux
Travelling Tuatara
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 2:35 am

Re: HideAway appears not to be working

Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:10 pm

Good Morning Nick
please find attached a copy of ipv6test results.
I use Kaspersky Internet Security.
Even with it disable..not even.. loaded the problem still exists.

A quick check using the free version of Ghost6 works fine!
Attachments
ipv6test.jpg
ipv6test.jpg (64.48 KiB) Viewed 4756 times
User avatar
nick.bolton
The Big Cheese
Posts: 1973
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:02 pm

Re: HideAway appears not to be working

Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:23 pm

Hi

We've always had problems with Kaspersky, it stops the proper installation of HideAway even if you turn off the protection.

Anyway, assuming it's not that. Can you login in to your Router and turn off IPv6 and see if that helps?

Nick
User avatar
Jancux
Travelling Tuatara
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 2:35 am

Re: HideAway appears not to be working

Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:42 pm

I know all about your problems with Kaspersky.
It was me who first brought it to your attention.
My router does not apear to have an for turning on/off of ipv4 or ipv6!

As before with the Kaspersky Investigation, I would allow you to access my PC through Teamviewer if that would help.
User avatar
nick.bolton
The Big Cheese
Posts: 1973
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:02 pm

Re: HideAway appears not to be working

Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:21 pm

We're seeing some users (including me now) not get any redirection at all - could be related so just trying to figure that out. Let me get back to you. Teamviewer might be a bit tricky as it disconnects when we uninstall/reinstall the driver.
User avatar
nick.bolton
The Big Cheese
Posts: 1973
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:02 pm

Re: HideAway appears not to be working

Sat Jan 14, 2017 6:52 am

Seems to be an issue with the driver we're using from what we can see at the moment, perhaps disabled via a Windows Update. We're in contact with the driver development company to see what's up
ChrisVie
Rattled Rabbit
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 7:44 am

Re: HideAway appears not to be working

Sun Jan 15, 2017 2:22 am

Hi Nick,

any news? When I try to activate a rule, sometimes it gets striked out and a warning sign appears, sometimes not, but there is no redirection at all. On client side there is no problem with the latest Windows 10 update - I deinstalled it, but still get no redirection. Beta2 is redirecting as usual.
User avatar
nick.bolton
The Big Cheese
Posts: 1973
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:02 pm

Re: HideAway appears not to be working

Sun Jan 15, 2017 4:50 am

We're still in the dark about it, very frustrating. We have a test client that we can test just the basics of it, and even that's not working. Beta 2 uses a different driver. The odd thing is that it's the same on Windows 7, 8 and 10 and it won't work on an unpatched version of Windows either. Almost like it it's timebombed to stop.

Return to “HideAway”