HideAway 3.0

Andrew42
Active Albatross
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:43 am

HideAway 3.0

Tue Mar 28, 2017 8:08 pm

Thanks for the info. I downloaded 3.0 having previously removed 2.0 and re-booted. Two observations:
1. I still cannot use my wireless printer with Hideaway active
2. It does not matter which server I use for redirection I always end up being redirected through Australia, (Brisbane). I haven't chosen every server, just London and Geneva.
3. Until you have added back the basic ability to print and to develop rules I will only be able to use Hideaway for those moments when I really wish to hide my location after which I will have to stop redirect.
4. Given that I will not have Hideaway running most of the time how will the automatic updates work?
Andrew42
Active Albatross
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:43 am

Re: HideAway 3.0

Wed Mar 29, 2017 10:12 am

Just checked it again. Still only redirects through Australia regardless what the server selected.
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Contact:
Posts: 14280
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm

Re: HideAway 3.0

Wed Mar 29, 2017 1:14 pm

Hi Andrew
Andrew42 wrote:Thanks for the info. I downloaded 3.0 having previously removed 2.0 and re-booted. Two observations:
1. I still cannot use my wireless printer with Hideaway active
It was my understanding this wasn't going to be fixed until the rest of the UI/rules was integrated. We're still a few weeks away from that, if things go well, late April.

Andrew42 wrote:3. Until you have added back the basic ability to print and to develop rules I will only be able to use Hideaway for those moments when I really wish to hide my location after which I will have to stop redirect.
Yeah, it's quite limiting right now. But those rules are definitely coming back.

Andrew42 wrote:4. Given that I will not have Hideaway running most of the time how will the automatic updates work?
HideAway will check on startup, I'll also post updates in the thread here http://forum.firetrust.com/viewtopic.php?f=59&t=15454 if you want to subscribe to that.


Andrew42 wrote:2. It does not matter which server I use for redirection I always end up being redirected through Australia, (Brisbane). I haven't chosen every server, just London and Geneva.
OK this one is a real puzzler. This is only when you select for the whole machine to redirect, or you get the same with a browser specific rule ?
Andrew42
Active Albatross
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:43 am

Re: HideAway 3.0

Wed Mar 29, 2017 6:38 pm

Either way.
ataraxy
Knowledgeable Kea
Posts: 1727
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 1:17 pm

Re: HideAway 3.0

Wed Mar 29, 2017 7:55 pm

Try logging out and logging in again. I'm now using v3.0.1 and a redirect of Chrome to the UK appears to be working correctly.
Windows 10
Andrew42
Active Albatross
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:43 am

Andrew42

Wed Mar 29, 2017 8:39 pm

Also on 3.0.1. Just logged, in redirected whole computer through London and it is redirecting through Brisbane.

Wondering if I should uninstall HideAway, reboot and reinstall: waiting for thoughts.
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Contact:
Posts: 14280
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm

Re: HideAway 3.0

Wed Mar 29, 2017 8:45 pm

Yeah I passed that one on, out of my league :)

It's not going to hurt to uninstall through Control Panel >> Programs >> note there are two HideAways that need to be removed at present (one UI one Driver) remove those >> Reboot >> reinstall 3.0.1 http://cdn.firetrust.com/downloads/hide ... .1beta.exe
User avatar
nick.bolton
The Big Cheese
Posts: 1973
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:02 pm

Re: HideAway 3.0

Wed Mar 29, 2017 9:04 pm

What website are you using to tell where it's redirecting? I know a lot of these IP location websites are not always up to date, or show the wrong location even though the server is physically in that country.
User avatar
nick.bolton
The Big Cheese
Posts: 1973
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:02 pm

Re: HideAway 3.0

Wed Mar 29, 2017 9:30 pm

Here's a good test. Redirect to London, restart your browser, then go to http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b0 ... -episode-4 and play it. It won't play if it's Brisbane, but it will play because it's London.
Andrew42
Active Albatross
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:43 am

Re: HideAway 3.0

Wed Mar 29, 2017 9:57 pm

Problem solved. First I reinstalled, which made no difference. Then I read Nick's post about the inaccuracies of some IP Address sites. I was using "Whatsmyipaddress" which I have used for some time without a problem. Then I changed it to iplocation.net which showed my that HideAway was indeed redirecting as set. I checked it through most of the servers.
Thanks for all the help.
Mitsubishi
Rattled Rabbit
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:10 am

Re: HideAway 3.0

Thu Mar 30, 2017 5:05 am

Using Win 7 32 bit
Had problem same as Andrew42 - and then tried IPLocation Finder (thank you)
however since 3.0.1 arrived my anti virus (AdAware) is flagging this as a malicious application.
User avatar
nick.bolton
The Big Cheese
Posts: 1973
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:02 pm

Re: HideAway 3.0

Thu Mar 30, 2017 11:49 am

That's odd, when we scanned it with www.virustotal.com Ad-aware is all ok. I think it might just be a reputation thing as it's not widely distributed yet. We're going to digitally sign some more of the files too in the next update.

Can you let us know what virus Adaware flagged it as? Screenshot perhaps? Then I can notify Adaware
Thanks!
User avatar
nick.bolton
The Big Cheese
Posts: 1973
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:02 pm

Re: HideAway 3.0

Thu Mar 30, 2017 4:02 pm

@Mitsubishi

Can you try this

1. Go to Start, type cmd.exe and it should show you the file Command Prompt

Right click on this and select ‘Run as Administrator’

Copy the below info in to the black box which has popped up.

cd %LOCALAPPDATA%\HideAway\app-3.0.1\resources\driver

Now click Enter

Then type or copy/paste this

HideAwayDriverSetup.exe -u

This will uninstall, please restart

Then run HideAway

Did that help? It seems to work with another user who was running VIPRE antivirus.
Mitsubishi
Rattled Rabbit
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:10 am

Re: HideAway 3.0

Fri Mar 31, 2017 3:55 am

Hi
Thanks for Command Prompt suggestion, this however did not work, still getting "warning" as in attachment.
I did look in C:\Users\Appdata this contained HideAway 3.0.0 and 3.0.1 I deleted app 3.0.0 but has made no difference.
HideAway still runs as normal and connects to chosen server - it just comes up with Malicious Application Blocked when starting initially.
Attachments
hwad1.jpg
hwad1.jpg (505.78 KiB) Viewed 6289 times
User avatar
nick.bolton
The Big Cheese
Posts: 1973
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:02 pm

Re: HideAway 3.0

Fri Mar 31, 2017 9:27 am

Well that's strange it's blocked it but still allows it to run. I don't think there's much we can do if an AV is going go try and block it. Are you able to create a filter in Adaware to say the file is legitimate?

Return to “HideAway”