Strange behaviour 3.16.0 incorrect routing

frankst237
Student Sheep

Strange behaviour 3.16.0 incorrect routing

Sat Jun 01, 2019 8:43 pm

Hello all, I am a UK resident currently in France for a few weeks. I want to watch BBC iPlayer whilst I am here. Until a couple of days ago Hideaway was working fine but suddenly seems to have gone peculiar!! This is in parallel with more choices of what to redirect and where to redirect becoming available I think.

I selected "Watch BBC iPlayer" (which has only appeared as an option recently I believe), redirected and then checked the IP address with a website called ipinfo. The IP address is somewhere in France - not what I wanted.

I then changed and selected Redirect Whole Computer and chose London (which has been working fine for the last couple of weeks), checked the IP address again and it tells me that I am now routing through Greece.

Strange behaviour to me!!

Is there a known problem or is it a random occurrence?

Any info from anyone please.

Thanks, Frank
nick.bolton
The Big Cheese

Re: Strange behaviour 3.16.0 incorrect routing

Sat Jun 01, 2019 9:08 pm

Hi Frank

If you select 'Watch BBC iPlayer' then it will only redirect what's needed to get iPlayer to work on your computer, it won't redirect anything else, hence the IP address saying you're in France, since you're in France.

The London IP address is actually in London, but sometimes these IP address websites don't have the most up to date data. If you go to https://ipinfo.io/ it will show Essex. Google maps shows Uganda (we've reported this to them), but Microsoft Bing Maps correctly shows London.
The hosting companies who control these IP addresses can often move them around.

Nick
sophist
Mystified Moa

Sun Jun 02, 2019 3:18 am