MW 6 and G-mail

Whether you're a MailWasher veteran or complete newbie, all users are welcome to get together. Discussions include usage and possible problems.
DavidA
Rattled Rabbit
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 9:22 am

MW 6 and G-mail

Sun Jul 28, 2013 9:35 am

I am using MW 6.5.4 Pro & Win 7. I am able to check my Verizon account, and Hotmail, but G-mail is being ignored. In the account settings I have the user name, the password, the POP3 server address as pop.gmail.com, and "Include this account in default check." But it doesn't. Any suggestions?

Thanks.

David
ataraxy
Knowledgeable Kea
Posts: 1725
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 1:17 pm

Re: MW 6 and G-mail

Sun Jul 28, 2013 11:05 am

Have you enabled POP3 in Gmail?

Check https://support.google.com/mail/trouble ... 8960?hl=en

Note that when you delete spam in Gmail it is actually copied to the All Mail folder
Windows 10
DavidA
Rattled Rabbit
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 9:22 am

Re: MW 6 and G-mail

Sun Jul 28, 2013 11:50 am

Thanks for responding. Yes, I should have added that I looked at the settings in G-mail: pop.gmail.com, POP is enabled, Use SSL, and Port 995. But I can't get it to work.

David
ataraxy
Knowledgeable Kea
Posts: 1725
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 1:17 pm

Re: MW 6 and G-mail

Sun Jul 28, 2013 2:35 pm

Can you check the Gmail account separately using the drop down box on the Check Mail icon?
Windows 10
User avatar
TrustFire
βeta Tester
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 12729
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 11:04 pm

Re: MW 6 and G-mail

Sun Jul 28, 2013 3:18 pm

This is what works for me:-
POP3.png
POP3.png (147.15 KiB) Viewed 3733 times
MWP 7 (ßeta) | Windows 8.1 Pro (x64) | The Bat! Professional (ßeta) | Windows 10 Firewall Control (ßeta) | ESET Endpoint Antivirus (ßeta) | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 | Internet Connection Speed (D=50 Mb/s, U=3.5 Mb/s) | .NET Framework (4.8)
marge201
Rattled Rabbit
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 5:56 am

Re: MW 6 and G-mail

Tue Nov 12, 2013 7:49 pm

Long-time user with new gmail problem. I changed my gmail password but MW won't accept it. All settings are correct, including the advanced account options. I changed password again to double-check that I'm using the correct password. I keep getting "bad username or password" whether I use F5 or use the dropdown menu to check just gmail. HELP!!!! (W7P and MW 6.5.4)
User avatar
TrustFire
βeta Tester
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 12729
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 11:04 pm

Re: MW 6 and G-mail

Tue Nov 12, 2013 8:06 pm

marge201 wrote:Long-time user with new gmail problem. I changed my gmail password but MW won't accept it. All settings are correct, including the advanced account options. I changed password again to double-check that I'm using the correct password. I keep getting "bad username or password" whether I use F5 or use the dropdown menu to check just gmail. HELP!!!! (W7P and MW 6.5.4)
Is your Gmail account configured exactly as illustrated above - if yes, I'd suggest the following:--
  • typing both - the username and password, manually
  • if the above doesn't work, copy both - the username and password from a text file
  • if neither of the above works - login through your webmail successfully (at least once)
  • if none of the above works - it's time to contact your ISP (Internet Service Provider) for connectivity issues
When copying text and/or numericals, it's recommended to use a RTL (right-to-left) cursor selection - I suspect that you've been adding a leading and/or trailing space to the username and/or password . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . inadvertently. :idea:
MWP 7 (ßeta) | Windows 8.1 Pro (x64) | The Bat! Professional (ßeta) | Windows 10 Firewall Control (ßeta) | ESET Endpoint Antivirus (ßeta) | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 | Internet Connection Speed (D=50 Mb/s, U=3.5 Mb/s) | .NET Framework (4.8)
ataraxy
Knowledgeable Kea
Posts: 1725
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 1:17 pm

Re: MW 6 and G-mail

Wed Nov 13, 2013 10:40 am

TrustFire wrote:Is your Gmail account configured exactly as illustrated above - if yes, I'd suggest the following:--
  • typing both - the username and password, manually
  • if the above doesn't work, copy both - the username and password from a text file
  • if neither of the above works - login through your webmail successfully (at least once)
  • if none of the above works - it's time to contact your ISP (Internet Service Provider) for connectivity issues
When copying text and/or numericals, it's recommended to use a RTL (right-to-left) cursor selection - I suspect that you've been adding a leading and/or trailing space to the username and/or password . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . inadvertently. :idea:
@marge201 - I think that the above advice is a total overreaction.

Have you tried changing your Gmail password to a simple alphanumeric one, and then tried changing that in MailWasher? If you can get that to work, then there is a character in your new password that is causing problems in MailWasher.

If that is the case, you could use a trial and error approach to find it, or contact MailWasher support via http://support.firetrust.com/ and ask them to help.
Windows 10
User avatar
rusticdog
Firetrust Monkey
Contact:
Posts: 14074
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:27 pm

Re: MW 6 and G-mail

Fri Nov 15, 2013 4:18 pm

Edited your post TrustFire, nothing was meant in a manner to be taken badly, just their own observation.

Return to “Troubleshooting and Help for MailWasher 5 and 6”